Seven new members added to Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame

LINCOLN, Neb. — The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will be inducting seven new members on October 21, 2011, at the Fireman’s Hall in Lincoln, Neb.

This is the 14th class for the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame which was created in 1998 to honor Nebraskans, both native and adopted, for their contributions to the sport of auto racing.

The seven newest associates for the hall of fame are:

Fred Anderson, Omaha
Anderson started his drag racing career in 1952, and set many national records. He has 12 U.S. Nationals class wins and raced in 53 straight U.S. Nationals, beginning with the inaugural event in 1955 at Great Bend, Kan.

Keith Chambers, Beatrice
Chambers was a staff photographer for the Omaha Word-Herald from 1946-50, covering all forms of auto racing, especially the exciting midgets. He drove and promoted stock cars in the early 1950s. Chambers handled publicity for Omaha Dragway from 1962-65 and was listed as the number one reporter for the National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) during that time.

Don Droud Sr., Lincoln
Droud has been a driver, owner, promoter, coach and sage during his 54-year career in motorsports. He’s raced motorcycles, supermodifieds, sprint cars, late models, trucks and dwarf cars during that time, winning several track championships along the way. His two sons, Don Jr. and Rodney, have also had very successful careers in auto racing.

The Kelley Family, Omaha
The Kellys promoted Sunset Speedway from 1976 through 2000. They were a four-time nominee for national Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Award and Sunset Speedway was one of the first tracks to join the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series. Sunset Speedway led the way in the use of radios for officials; they set time limits for races; among the first tracks to have a website; corporate VIP boxes; a live pre-race radio show; engine compression rules along and many other innovations.

Eddie Kracek, Omaha
Kracek started his racing career in 1928 in stock cars and in 1935 he had become a star on the fledgling midget circuits of the Omaha area. By 1937, he was racing on the national stage against some of the top midgeteers in the country. Kracek was one of the first “outsiders” to win at Olympic Stadium in Kansas City, and competed very successfully for several years. Shortly before the U.S. put a stop to racing in 1942 because of World War II, Kracek was badly injured in a race at Olympic. He passed away two weeks later on Aug. 4, 1942.

Wayne Mason, Omaha
Mason was a championship car owner and mechanic for many years with drivers such as Bud Burdick, Ed Morris, Bob Kosiski and Steve Kosiski. Mason’s cars have scored 17 track championships, seven NASCAR Busch All-Star Tour titles; two Topless Outlaw Racing Association (TORA) championships and has had feature wins in NASCAR, MLRA, NCRA and the IMCA.

Jim Wyman, Fremont
Wyman started racing in 1954, and was a four-time champ at Sunset Speedway, winning 58 feature races there. He was three-time titlist at the Shelby County Speedway in Harlan, Iowa, and a two-time champ at the Adams County Speedway in Corning, Iowa.

The purpose of the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is to perpetuate the memory of these individuals who have brought lasting fame to the state of Nebraska through their efforts in auto racing. Nominees to the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame must have been a resident of the state for at least two years and must be retired for at least four years from the discipline for which they are being honored. Active participants in the sport will be considered if they are at least 55 years of age and have been with the sport for at least 30 years. All candidates must have made positive contributions to the sport of auto racing on a local and regional level and go on to some national prominence.

Anyone wishing to nominate a person to the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame can do so by submitting the person’s name, with a list of their accomplishments in a short bio to:

Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
5527 S. 20th St.
Lincoln, NE 68512

You can also call 402-421-2266 or e-mail your nomination to

The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is located inside the Museum of American Speed at 340 Victory Lane on the Speedway Motors complex in Lincoln, Neb. The Museum of American Speed hours: May through September, two-hour guided tours begin at 2 p.m., Monday through Friday. October through April, two-hour guided tours begin at 2 p.m. every Friday. Admission is $10 to tour the museum.

For more information about the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame, please visit

Related Post