Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame announces seven new members

LINCOLN, Neb. — The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will be inducting seven new members on October 12 at the Fireman’s Hall in Lincoln, Neb.

This is the 15th class for the NARHoF which was created in 1998 to honor Nebraskans, both native and adopted, for their contributions to the sport of auto racing.

The seven newest associates in the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame are:

Chuck Bosselman, Grand Island
Bosselman got the racing bug in late 1960s, starting with a ’55 Chevy and competing around the Midwest. He became one of the few people to successfully race an AMC product on America’s short tracks, winning an IMCA national race at the Nebraska State Fair in 1974 with his red, white and blue AMC Hornet.

Dave Chase, Omaha
In a career spanning more than 30 years, Chase scored in excess of 300 feature wins and 20 track championships. He also ran in ASA and NASCAR with great success.

Bob Elic, Omaha
Elic was a major force in Omaha area drag racing in the 1950s and ’60s, driving the career of Howdy Williams and several others.

John Gerloff, Lincoln
Gerloff was a championship winning late model driver before turning his attention to sprint cars in the mid-1980s. Gerloff won point titles at Eagle Raceway seven times and is the all-time leading feature winner there. He also racked up victories at the Jackson Nationals in 1988 and the Short Track Nationals in 1994.

Keith Hightshoe, Ashland
Hightshoe started his career at Arlington Raceway in 1955 and ran with some of the top organizations including IMCA and BCRA during a 45-year career. He won races in Colorado and Kansas in addition to his home state.

Bob Hubbard, Wymore
Hubbard was a winning crew chief at the Daytona 24-hour event four straight times from 1985-88. He also scored national wins as a driver in 1964 and 1965 in Formula Vee and won six national titles in F production.

Homer Macklin, Minden
Starting out as a driver in the early 1950s, Mackline found his niche as the mechanic of the famed “Mighty Mouse” stock car team. With drivers such as Cliff Sealock and Willie Hecke, the team ran wild for two decades. In 1972, Macklin and Hecke teamed up with the “Go Big Red” sprint car and continued to dominate for several years.

The purpose of the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is to perpetuate the memory of these individuals who have brought lasting fame to the state of Nebraska through their efforts in auto racing. Nominees to the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame must have been a resident of the state for at least two years and must be retired for at least four years from the discipline for which they are being honored. Active participants in the sport will be considered if they are at least 55 years of age and have been with the sport for at least 30 years. All candidates must have made positive contributions to the sport of auto racing on a local and regional level and go on to some national prominence.

Anyone wishing to nominate a person to the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame can do so by submitting the person’s name, with a list of their accomplishments in a short bio to:

Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
5527 S. 20th St.
Lincoln, NE 68512

You can also call 402-421-2266 or e-mail your nomination to

The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is located inside the Museum of American Speed at 340 Victory Lane on the Speedway Motors complex in Lincoln, Neb. The Museum of American Speed hours: May through September, two-hour guided tours begin at 2 p.m., Monday through Friday. October through April, two-hour guided tours begin at 2 p.m. every Friday. Admission is $10 to tour the museum.

For more information about the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame, please visit

Related Post