Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame announces seven new members for 2016

LINCOLN, Neb.—The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will be inducting seven new members on Oct. 14 in Lincoln, Neb. This is the 19th class for the Hall which was created in 1998 to honor Nebraskans—both native and adopted—for their contributions to the sport of auto racing.

The seven newest associates in the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame are:

Marlin Bogner, Kearney
Bogner has been drag racing with the National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) since the mid-1970s and is still at it. He is a many-time national champion in both the Stock and Super Stock categories.

Noel Chadd, Lincoln
Chadd was a sprint car owner and crew chief from 1975 to 2008. Some of his drivers include J.J, Riggins, Clark Templeman, “Tiger” Bob Williams and his sons, Dean and Mike.

Fred Garbers, Columbus
Garbers was a car owner from 1967 to the mid-2000s, racing all across the country. Some of his drivers included Lloyd Beckman, Mike Boston, Dick Forbrook, Kim Lingenfelter, Jim Stewart and Dean Ward.

Tom Gutowski, Omaha
Gutowski has had a varied career in motor sports as a driver, promoter and official from the mid-1970s to present. Promoting duties included the Crawford County Speedway in Denison, Iowa; Shelby County Speedway in Harlan, Iowa; Buena Vista Speedway in Alta, Iowa; and I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb. Gutowski currently works as Competition Director for the International Motor Contest Association (IMCA).

John Larson, Lincoln
Larson built engines and owned race cars from the late 1950s through the mid-2000s. Some of the drivers who sat behind Larson engines include Lloyd Beckman, Clayton Peterson Jr. and J.J. Riggins.

C.B. “Pop” Miller, Gothenburg
Miller owned sprint cars and raced with the California Racing Association (CRA) from 1953 through 1975. His drivers read like a who’s who of the sport, including Gene Brown, Jack Brunner, Bob East, Parnelli Jones, Allen Heath, Chuck Hulse, Jerry McClung, Buzz Rose, Louie Unser, Gordon Woolley and many others.

Tim Schulz, Lincoln
Schulz is possibly the fastest Nebraskan in history. Driving the MacKichan/Schulz streamliner from 1989 to 2010, he consistently ran over 300 miles per hour on the Bonneville Salt Flats in Northwestern Utah with a top seed of 346 miles per hour.

The 19th Annual Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held at the Lincoln Firefighter’s Reception Hall located at 241 Victory Lane in Lincoln, Neb., on Friday, Oct. 14, 2016. Tickets are $20 each and will be available for purchased after July 1. Doors open at 5 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 6 p.m.

The mission of the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is to perpetuate the memories of individuals who have brought lasting fame and positive recognition to the state of Nebraska through their achievements in the sport of auto racing. The NARHoF is located inside the Museum of American Speed, located at 599 Oak Creek Dr. in Lincoln, Neb.

For more information or to submit a nominee for consideration, contact Joe Orth, Secretary-Treasurer, by calling (402) 421-2266 or email Visit the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame online at and on Facebook at

Related Post