Gordie Shuck Memorial Award

The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame’s Gordie Shuck Memorial Award was established in 2004 as the Gordie Shuck Memorial Sportsmanship Award.  The award was made possible by a generous gift to the Hall of Fame by the Shuck family to commemorate what Gordie Shuck saw as the high point of his career, being voted by his peers, the owners and drivers of the United Motor Contest Association (UMCA), as the recipient of the organization’s Sportsmanship Award in 1953.  The Gordie Shuck Memorial Sportsmanship Award was awarded to an individual who, by their actions, showed great sportsmanship and put others ahead of themselves for the betterment of racing.   In 2016, the name of the award was changed to the Gordie Shuck Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award, to recognize individuals who have made lifetime contributions to the sport of automobile racing in the state of Nebraska.

Gordie Shuck Memorial Sportsmanship Award:
2002 | Joe Kosiski
2003 | Tom Baumgardner
2004 | Ruth and Don Hagan
2005 | Dave Doll
2006 | Ray Valasek
2007 | Tami Thurn
2008 | Mike Cacak
2009 | Willie Ideen
2014 | Joyce Smith

Gordie Shuck Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award:
2016 | Bob O’Neill
2017 | Steve and Belinda Wessels
2018 | Monty Jones
2019 | John Lajba
2021 | Beatrice Speedway Women For Racing
2022 | Mike Peterson