Our Mission
Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame to induct seven for 2000
by Bob Mays
LINCOLN, Neb. (February 2, 2000) -- The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will induct seven new members into the three-year-old organization, Hall of Fame President, Tony Glenn announced recently. The induction ceremony will take place at the Nebraska State Fair Park Clubhouse in Lincoln, on August 30, 2000.

The 2000 inductees are:

Noel Bullock, North Platte -- Noel won the 1922 Pikes Peak Hillclimb, as well as many outlaw races in Nebraska, Kansas, Colorado and South Dakota from 1916 to 1925.

Bob Burdick, Omaha -- Bob won the 1961 Atlanta 500 NASCAR Grand National race. He also won many IMCA Late Model races from 1955 to 1959.

Jim Gessford, Hastings -- Jim built and owned many types of race cars, including, Hot Rods, Modifieds, Supermodifieds, and Sprints from the late 1940s into the 1980s.

Joe Kosiske, Omaha -- Joe, the father of 1998 Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame inductee, Bob Kosiski, and grandfather of current Late Model racer, Joe Kosiski, was instrumental in providing Bob’s winning cars from 1950 to 1960.

Bobby Parker, Omaha -- Bobby was one of the most versatile drivers to come out of the state. Bob won countless Midget races through the 1950s and 1960s, and was the first point champion of Sunset Speedway, in Omaha, in 1957.

Gordon Smiley, Omaha -- Gordon was an accomplished road racer who started two Indy 500s, in 1980 and 1981. He was fatally injured at Indianapolis trying to qualify for the 1982 race.

Les Vaughn, Omaha -- Les was an owner of Midgets and Sprints in the 1940s and 1950s who helped many drivers on the way to stardom. It was in Les’ car that a young kid from Houston, Texas named A. J. Foyt, garnered his first Sprint Car victory in 1956.

News & Results
Board Members & Officers
Nebraska Race Tracks
Photo Gallery
Contact the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Banquet Information

The 20th Annual Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held at the Lincoln Firefighter’s Reception Hall located at 241 Victory Lane in Lincoln, Neb., on Friday, Oct. 27, 2017. Tickets are SOLD OUT. There are NO TICKETS AVAILABLE AT THE DOOR!! Doors open at 5 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 6:30.

More Info
   © Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame