Our Mission
Eight new members to be inducted into Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
by Darin Racek
LINCOLN, Neb. (August 3, 2001) -- The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will celebrate the induction of eight new members in the fourth annual ceremony. The event will be held on August 29 at 1P.M. in the Clubhouse at State Fair Park.

Governor Mike Johanns, a fan of auto racing, will be an honored guest, as well as the key speaker Dave Argabright, one of the premier motorsports authors and writers in the country.

The purpose of the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is to perpetuate the memory and honor Nebraskans who have brought lasting fame and positive recognition to the Great State of Nebraska through their achievements in the sport of Auto Racing, and the NARHoF feels these eight people meet this prupose.

The deceased members inducted this year were owners, engineers, and drivers.

Art Jacobson was a premier Midget car owner of Omaha. Howard Johansen, a native of Shelby, was a mechanical genius who, among other achievements, founded Howard Cams.

Loyal Katskee was a driver who came out of Omaha, chalked up road racing experience in some of the most exotic race cars in the world, and drove at such premier tracks as Sebring, Fl., Riverside, Ca., Nassau, Bahamas, and Havanna Cuba.

Don Wolfe was a race car driver out of the Lexington area that drove Big Cars (Sprints), Coupes, and Roadsters, and also competed in the NASCAR (National Association of Stock Car Auto Racing) Sportsman division and the CAR (Championship Auto Racing) in his fourteen year career.

The living inductees were all hard-charging race cars drivers in their time.

Frank Brennfoerder began racing in 1948, and the Lincoln driver drove Midgets, Modified Sprint Cars, and Sprints throughout his 25 year career.

Gerald Bruggeman drove Sprint cars in every direction the roads took him away from Hoskins, but is best known as being the only man to win three consecutive track championships at Husetís Speedway near Sioux Falls, SD, a track in operation since 1954.

Ralph Foster drove Midgets and Big Cars in the late 1930ís and 1940ís, earning 44 Big Car wins and tje Kansas State Championship in 1940 alone.

Dean Ward of Grand Island began his career in 1965 and did not retire until 1995, winning races and championships in Supermodifieds, Modified Sprints, Late Models, and even Midgets.

Tickets for the ceremony are $6.00 per person, and may be purchased, as well as tickets for admission ($3.00 before 3 P.M.) into State Fair Park, by writing to Connie Decker, Nebraska State Fair, P.O. Box 81223, Lincoln, NE 68591. Special tickets may also be purchased for $29.00 that will get you into the gate, the ceremony, and the eveningís racing event featuring the OíReilly All Star Tour Late Models and Central Nebraska Circle Track Association Late Models. More information can also be obtained by calling 402-473-4104.
News & Results
Board Members & Officers
Nebraska Race Tracks
Photo Gallery
Contact the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Banquet Information
The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will enshrine six new inductees at the organizationís 21st annual Induction Ceremonies to be held later this year on SATURDAY OCTOBER 27th, 2018 at Courtside Banquet Hall in Lincoln, a NEW LOCATION!! Located at 333 SPEEDWAY CIRCLE #2, LINCOLN, NEBRASKA. Previously, the organizationís annual Induction Ceremonies had been held on a Friday evening at Lincoln Firefighterís Hall, however timing and space issues prompted the change to a Saturday night at a larger venue.
More Info
   © Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame