Our Mission
5th Annual Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame ceremony coming
by Bob Mays
LINCOLN, Neb. (April 21, 2002) -- The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will celebrate the induction of six new members in the fifth annual induction ceremony, as well as award the first Gordie Schuck Memorial Sportsmanship award.

The event will be held Thursday, September 19 at 7 P.M. at the Smith Collection Museum on the Speedway Motors Complex at 320 Victory Lane Drive in Lincoln. The ceremony will be followed by tours through the new Speedway Motors museum, while hors d’oeuvres, cash bar, and bench racing will occur at the Lincoln Fireman’s Hall across the street.

The purpose of the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is to perpetuate the memory and honor Nebraskans who have brought lasting fame and positive recognition to the Great State of Nebraska through their achievements in the sport of Auto Racing.

The deceased members inducted this year were legendary racers and promoters.

Eddie Rickenbacker, who lived in Omaha in the early 1910’s, was an outstanding Indy car driver of his time and a World War I hero, but he is best known as owning Indianapolis Motor Speedway from 1927-1945.

King Rhiley, a contemporary to 2000 NARHoF inductee Noel Bullock, called Oshkosh home. He won many races in his career that lasted from 1912-1928, including the 1921 Pikes Peak Hill Climb.

Kenny Gritz lived for a time in Lincoln, and was one of the best Supermodified and Sprint car drivers around in the 1960’s, capping the decade with the 1969 Knoxville Nationals Victory. He was killed only two weeks after that victory in a Sprint car crash at the Nebraska State Fair.

This years living inductees include some of the best racers in Nebraska and in the United States.

Don Ostendorf, now of Maxwell, was one of the toughest racers in South Central Nebraska around the area’s NASCAR Sportsman circuit in the 1950‘s.

Cliff Sealock of Hastings had a very successful Modified and Supermodified career that spanned from the 1950’s to the 1970’s.

Doug Wolfgang, who lived in Lincoln for many years, will be inducted the first year he was eligible for nomination. Wolfgang won the Knoxville Nationals five times, as well as many Sprint car races across the United States under World of Outlaw, IMCA, USAC, and other major sanctioning flags.

Tickets for the ceremony are $12.00 each for adults, $6.00 for children 6-12, and free for children under 6. Tickets may be purchased by sending a check or money order to Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 94835, Lincoln, NE 68509. Please include your name, address, and names of other person or persons for whom you are purchasing tickets.. More information may be obtained by writing to that address. Please have your ticket order in before September 5.
News & Results
Board Members & Officers
Nebraska Race Tracks
Photo Gallery
Contact the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Banquet Information

The 20th Annual Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held at the Lincoln Firefighter’s Reception Hall located at 241 Victory Lane in Lincoln, Neb., on Friday, Oct. 27, 2017. Tickets are SOLD OUT. There are NO TICKETS AVAILABLE AT THE DOOR!! Doors open at 5 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 6:30.

More Info
   © Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame