Our Mission
Six inducted to Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame; Joe Kosiski garners first ever ‘Gordie’
by Jeff Nun
LINCOLN, Neb. (September 19, 2002) -- The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame celebrated the induction of six new members in the fifth annual induction ceremony Thursday night at the Smith Collection Museum on the Speedway Motors Complex Lincoln, Neb.

The deceased members inducted this year were legendary racers and promoters:

Eddie Rickenbacker, who lived in Omaha in the early 1910s, was an outstanding Indy Car driver of his time and a World War I hero. But he is best known as owning Indianapolis Motor Speedway from 1927-45.

King Rhiley, a contemporary to 2000 NARHoF inductee Noel Bullock, called Oshkosh home. He won many races in his career that lasted from 1912-28, including the 1921 Pikes Peak Hill Climb.

Kenny Gritz lived for a time in Lincoln, and was one of the best Supermodified and Sprint Car drivers around in the '60s, capping the decade with a victory at the '69 Knoxville Nationals. He was killed just two weeks later in a Sprint Car crash at the Nebraska State Fairgrounds.

This year's living inductees include some of the best racers ever in Nebraska -- and the United States:

Don Ostendorf, now of Maxwell, was one of the toughest racers in South Central Nebraska in the area’s NASCAR Sportsman circuit in the '50s.

Cliff Sealock of Hastings had a very successful Modified and Supermodified career that spanned from the 1950s to the '70s.

Doug Wolfgang, who lived in Lincoln for many years, will be inducted the first year he was eligible for nomination. Wolfgang won the Knoxville Nationals five times, as well as many Sprint Car races across the United States under World of Outlaws, IMCA, USAC and other major sanctioning flags.

In addition, the Gordie Schuck Memorial Sportsmanship award was presented to Joe Kosiski of Omaha. This was the first ever presentation of the award, which honors Gordon Frank “Gordie” Shuck, who passed away Feb. 10, 2001, at the age of 73. The popular Edgar farmer raced throughout the Midwest during the 1940s and '50s.

Thursday night's ceremony was followed by tours through the new Speedway Motors museum, while hors d’oeuvres, cash bar, and bench racing occurred at the Lincoln Fireman’s Hall across the street.

The purpose of the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is to perpetuate the memory and honor Nebraskans who have brought lasting fame and positive recognition to the great State of Nebraska through their achievements in the sport of auto racing.
News & Results
Board Members & Officers
Nebraska Race Tracks
Photo Gallery
Contact the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Banquet Information
The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will enshrine six new inductees at the organization’s 21st annual Induction Ceremonies to be held later this year on SATURDAY OCTOBER 27th, 2018 at Courtside Banquet Hall in Lincoln, a NEW LOCATION!! Located at 333 SPEEDWAY CIRCLE #2, LINCOLN, NEBRASKA. Previously, the organization’s annual Induction Ceremonies had been held on a Friday evening at Lincoln Firefighter’s Hall, however timing and space issues prompted the change to a Saturday night at a larger venue.
More Info
   © Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame