Our Mission
Wolfgang, five others to be inducted by Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
by Bob Mays
LINCOLN, Neb. (April 22, 2002) -- Doug Wolfgang will lead the 2002 class of the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame, President Tony Glenn, recently announced. Wolfgang will be joined by Ken Gritz, Don Ostendorf, King Rhiley, Eddie Rickenbacker and Cliff Sealock.

The inductions will take place at the Smith Collection Museum on the grounds of Speedway Motors at 320 Victory Lane Dr. on September 19, 2002 at 7pm

Wolfgang lived in Lincoln while working for chassis builder Don Maxwell as well as when he drove “Speedy Bill” Smith’s potent sprint car. Wolfgang won the 1978 Knoxville Nationals while with Smith, a 1998 inductee to the Hall of Fame. Doug won a total of five Knoxville Nationals and countless other sprint car races in a 20+ year career.

Ken Gritz, Lincoln, won the 1969 Knoxville Nationals in one of the closest races in the history of the event, defeating 1998 Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame inductee, Jan Opperman.

Don Ostendorf, North Platte, won the NASCAR Sportsman title in 1953 and 1954. During his 15 year career he raced all over the Midwest and took part in the 1953 National Open, held in Langhorne, PA.

King Rhiley, Oshkosh, started racing in 1912 and won over 50 races in his 16 years on the dirt tracks. His biggest win came in the 1921 Pikes Peak Hillclimb when he powered his Hudson Super-six up the 12.5 mile course to the summit in 19 minutes 16.2 seconds.

Eddie Rickenbacker started racing while living in Omaha and quickly became a nationally known driver. He raced in the Indianapolis 500 four times, starting in 1912. After World War I, where Eddie became a national hero as a fighter pilot, he bought the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and ran it for many years.

Cliff Sealock, Hastings, was a top line open wheel pilot in the 1950s and ’60s. He won races throughout the state. After moving to Concord, CA., Cliff raced with the California Racing Association (CRA) and the Northern Auto Racing Club (NARC), winning several times with both organizations.

The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is also proud to announce the inaugural Gordie Shuck Memorial Sportsmanship Award which will be given out at the induction ceremony during the Nebraska State Fair in 2002. The award will honor someone in the racing community for outstanding sportsman during the past season.

Shuck, from Edgar, NE, was an inductee into the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame in 1999 and the High Banks Hall of Fame, Belleville, KS, in 2000. He started his career in 1948 and retired from racing in 1958. Gordie was a champion driver of track roadsters, sprints, modified stocks and late models. The achievement he was most proud of was his 1953 United Motor Contest Association (UMCA) Sportsman of the Year Award. This award came the same year that he won the championship of the UMCA. Gordie Shuck passed away in January, 2001, at the age of 74.

The Gordie Shuck Memorial Award will be designed and based on his original UMCA award. It is being made possible by donations from the Shuck family. The award is open to anyone within the Nebraska racing community who has shown outstanding sportsmanship in the last year. Anyone wanting to nominate a person for this award should send the nominee’s name, along with a short explanations to why they are being nominated, to: Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame, Inc., 821 Driftwood Dr., Lincoln NE 68510. You can also send your nomination by e-mail to: nebautohof@aol.com.

Tickets for the Induction Ceremony are $12.00 for adults, $6.00 for children 6-12 with children under the age of six free. To reserve a seat send check or money order to: Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame, P O Box 94835, Lincoln NE 68509. Please include your name and the names of everyone in your party.
News & Results
Board Members & Officers
Nebraska Race Tracks
Photo Gallery
Contact the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Banquet Information
The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will enshrine six new inductees at the organization’s 21st annual Induction Ceremonies to be held later this year on SATURDAY OCTOBER 27th, 2018 at Courtside Banquet Hall in Lincoln, a NEW LOCATION!! Located at 333 SPEEDWAY CIRCLE #2, LINCOLN, NEBRASKA. Previously, the organization’s annual Induction Ceremonies had been held on a Friday evening at Lincoln Firefighter’s Hall, however timing and space issues prompted the change to a Saturday night at a larger venue.
More Info
   © Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame