Our Mission

Les Vaughn

Les Vaughn became involved in racing by providing wreckers for Playland Park Speedway in Council Bluffs, Iowa, in 1947. With such hot shoes as Bob Slater, Vito Calia, Tiny Lund, Carl Lillenthal, Bobby Parker, Len Henderson and Porky Rachwitz piloting his immaculate cars, they won features all over the Midwest. Vaughn soon got into sprint car racing with two cars -- one an Offy and the other a Riley. He ran these on the IMCA circuit with great success. Andy Anderson, Herschel Wagner, Bill Chennault, Bob Parker, Parnelli Jones, Cotton Farmer and Wayne Selser were among the top drivers to wheel these cars. In 1956, Vaughn took a chance on a 21-year-old kid named A.J. Foyt, who immediately became a top driver on the IMCA circuit. Foyt recorded his first sprint car win on August 25, 1956, at Fargo, N.D., aboard the Les Vaughn Offy. Vaughn was inducted into the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame in 2000.

News & Results
Board Members & Officers
Nebraska Race Tracks
Photo Gallery
Contact the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Banquet Information

The 20th Annual Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held at the Lincoln Firefighter’s Reception Hall located at 241 Victory Lane in Lincoln, Neb., on Friday, Oct. 27, 2017. Tickets are SOLD OUT. There are NO TICKETS AVAILABLE AT THE DOOR!! Doors open at 5 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 6:30.

More Info
   © Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame