Our Mission

Art Jacobson

Art Jacobson began his racing career in 1936 driving his own car for two years. He then turned to others to drive his car. A move to Omaha during World War II placed him in a hot bed for midget racing when the sport resumed after the war. Jacobson became involved with the Midwest Midget Auto Racing Association, racing 70 to 80 times per year. Jacobsonís cars were more home-built than most, and used Ford V-8 60 or Chevy II engines for power. He ran in open competition races against the mighty Offenhausers and came away with many wins. Jacobsonís midgets were piloted by some of the best, including Bobby Parker, Dick and Johnny Hobel, Leroy Neumayer, Der Merkley, Red Hoyle, Kenny Crabb, Jerry Weld, Harold Leep and Jim McVay. McVay was the IMCA midget champion driving for Jacobson in 1970. Jacobson passed away on December 23, 1985. He was inducted into the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame in 2001.

News & Results
Board Members & Officers
Nebraska Race Tracks
Photo Gallery
Contact the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Banquet Information

The 20th Annual Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held at the Lincoln Firefighterís Reception Hall located at 241 Victory Lane in Lincoln, Neb., on Friday, Oct. 27, 2017. Tickets are SOLD OUT. There are NO TICKETS AVAILABLE AT THE DOOR!! Doors open at 5 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 6:30.

More Info
   © Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame
Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame